You’re getting warmer, warmer … Thursday, April 11

English: Finding in the Temple

Finding in the Temple. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Rosary Meditation … The Fifth Joyful Mystery, the Finding in the Temple. ” … after three days, they found Him in the temple … ” Luke 2:46. I lost my glasses once. Well, more than once, but there was this one time that kind of stands out. I went all over the place, retracing steps. Warmer, warmer … Cold. It was like playing a child’s game and being on the losing team. What had I done, where and when? Any clue would help. I couldn’t find them anywhere. And no, they were not setting on top of my head. I’ve never been able to get glasses to do that. It was worse than that anyway. As I looked I suddenly realized that I was having trouble finding them, yes, but I wasn’t having any trouble looking. I was wearing them. Have you ever looked and looked and finally realized that whatever it was you were looking for wasn’t really lost? It was exactly where it should have been all along, but because we think its lost we don’t look there. We look everyplace else instead. People go looking for truth. They go all over the world in search of it. We waste time, three days, five years, it doesn’t matter. Time, energy, resources. All anybody really needs to do is stop and ask one simple question. “Where is the truth supposed to be?” Jesus is the Way, Truth, and Light.  There you go. Everything we need. A Way to get to the Truth and a Light to guide us there. Mary and Joseph were no doubt distraught and rightly so. People looking for something, anything, can easily get that way. There is no reason to be distraught when we’re looking for truth. Where is the truth supposed to be? Go there. Jesus had to be about His Father’s business and so He was in His Father’s house, the temple. Where is the truth supposed to be? Well, where is Jesus? Find Him and you find the Truth and the universe with it. And you don’t need glasses either.

Today … St. Boniface Curitan was an evangelist to the Picts and Scots. Probably a Roman by birth, Boniface was the bishop of Ross, England. He introduced Roman observances into the British territories and founded a vast number of parishes. This saint took people to Jesus. You can’t do that if you don’t know where He is yourself.

Quote … I have read in Plato and Cicero sayings that are very wise and very beautiful; but I never read in either of them:  “Come unto me all ye that labour and are heavy laden.”  ~St Augustine~