A day in the life …

w11 - Henry David Thoreau

“I wouldn’t talk about myself half so much if I knew anyone else half so well.” ~ Henry David Thoreau ~

I loved reading Thoreau’s experiences on Walden Pond growing up. I was even more impressed with him when I discovered his influence on Gandhi. Two heroes of mine early on. Anyway, Thoreau shared of himself. Well, I have a blog, so go figure … 😉

~ I got up early this morning, about 3 a.m. (As long as the cats get fed I can get up or go to bed when I want. But I keep a schedule. Its called self discipline.)

~ By about 7:30 I had everything done for the day. My cleaning, my exercise, my menu for the day. (I try to keep a clean cabin. I can’t stand a mess. I exercise a little so as not to atrophy. The menu is of worth only part of the time. The rest of the time? Look out, McDonald’s Dollar Menu!)

~ I felt really good. I actually had some energy. So I went to the store and stocked up on canned goods. (I’ve gotten so used to the taste of canned vegetables that I prefer them to fresh. I did NOT buy any smoked oysters. They’re my favorite food in a can. I didn’t get any. Am I sick? Again?)

~ After I put the groceries up I still had energy so I went to visit a friend. They were busy so I didn’t stay long. They like me. (It never ceases to amaze me that most people like me. I mean it. I’ve lived with me for over 58 years now and know what I’m like. Folks must either have really kind hearts or low expectations, I’m not sure which.)

~ When I got back home there was a big bag of books setting in my lawn chair. My landlord watches out for me. I think he worries that, because I don’t get out a lot, I’ll be bored. (Bored? BORED? I’ve got Church, my prayer life, six and a half cats [Floppy shows up when he wants to], I cook, I clean, I watch a little internet TV, talk with friends, read, listen to music, play computer games [to much], and I have two blogs. I wish I had time to get bored.)

~ I have two blogs. The other one, which is new, http://www.theprisonerfanfiction.wordpress.com , is doing well. (I posted to it today. I’ve actually gotten “likes” and subscribers. I tried writing fiction 40 years ago. It wasn’t good. Am I better or has the standard been lowered?)

~ The cat, my indoor cat, Serenity, has been very cuddly today. (OK, what does he want?)

~ At this point of my day I did two things concurrently. I over ate and I “cratered”. The energy is gone. It was a big day. Its over now. (Serenity is curled up by my feet and I’m trying to decide whether to go to sleep or play Fishdom on the ‘puter.)

A day in the life of … Me. So? So what? Well, it was a good day. I enjoyed it. I wasn’t contemplating life while gazing across Walden Pond. (By the way. When Thoreau was off in the wilderness being all philosophical and independent? He was only about two miles from his mom’s house and used to take her his laundry.) But I was living my own life, leaving the complicated contemplation of it to God. Unlike Gandhi I didn’t free India or anyone else. But I lived my own life free, in the freedom Jesus has won for me. These two guys, Thoreau and Gandhi, are still heroes of mine. Individuals with honest purpose and the will to go forward. But, some days, petting the cat, and eating a little (a little?) too much, knowing that the people around you care, and feeling good about it all is all the honest purpose a person needs to go forward with.

Sirach, chapter 14 …

11 * My son, if you have the means, treat yourself well,

and enjoy life as best you can.c

12 Remember that death does not delay,

and you have not been told the grave’s appointed time.

13 Before you die, be good to your friends;

give them a share in what you possess.d

14 Do not deprive yourself of good things now

or let a choice portion escape you.

I’m gonna play Fishdom now. 😉

Published in: on April 25, 2013 at 8:29 pm  Comments Off on A day in the life …  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where were YOU at the Presentation? … Thursday, April 25

Presentation of Jesus at the Temple

Presentation of Jesus, and more, at the Temple.

A Rosary Meditation … The Fourth Joyful Mystery, the Presentation. “And thy own soul a sword shall pierce, that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.” Luke 2:35. It wasn’t just Jesus who was being presented to Simeon and Anna in the Temple. Mary was too. It wasn’t only Messiah but His mother also, the Queen Mother. And because the prophecy of Simeon was true, well, have you ever poured out your heart to Mary, knowing that because she suffered she’d understand your miseries as well? Knowing that, as a good Mother, she would take your problems to the Throne of God and there, before Jesus, pray for you and your needs? It wasn’t just Jesus being presented there that day. And it wasn’t just Mary either. They both brought with them something else, another sort of presentation. Because there with them were all of our needs, all of our prayers even before we were born. And if this is true, if we were there in need and, in a sense, “spirit”, it’s just one more reason to believe that life, real human life, begins prior to a purely physical birth isn’t it? All life begins in the mind and heart of God, the Author of all life. There at the Temple more was being presented than first meets the eye. God is Holy. So is the life in Him.

Today …

 

 


St. Mark

St. Mark

The second Gospel was written by St. Mark, who, in the New Testament, is sometimes called John Mark. Both he and his mother, Mary, were highly esteemed in the early Church, and his mother’s house in Jerusalem served as a meeting place for Christians there.

St. Mark was associated with St. Paul and St. Barnabas (who was Mark’s cousin) on their missionary journey through the island of Cyprus. Later he accompanied St. Barnabas alone. We know also that he was in Rome with St. Peter and St. Paul. Tradition ascribes to him the founding of the Church in Alexandria.

St. Mark wrote the second Gospel, probably in Rome sometime before the year 60 A.D.; he wrote it in Greek for the Gentile converts to Christianity. Tradition tells us that St. Mark was requested by the Romans to set down the teachings of St. Peter. This seems to be confirmed by the position which St. Peter has in his Gospel. In this way the second Gospel is really a record of the life of Jesus as seen through the eyes of the Prince of the Apostles, St. Peter. St. Mark is patron saint of notaries.

Think … Life is more than breathing on our own. St. Mark lives to God hundreds of years after his physical death. All of us lived to God hundreds of years, even an eternity, before our birth. Life resides with the God that gives it. Who has the right to pluck it from His hand?

Published in: on April 25, 2013 at 4:01 am  Comments Off on Where were YOU at the Presentation? … Thursday, April 25  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,