Is Prayer “for the birds”?

Well, bluntly, if what I’m about to share has any merit the answer is one big, resounding “YES”!

Year before last when the St. Louis Cardinals were playing against the Texas Rangers in the World Series I cheated for the Cards. I prayed. For the Birds. I told God that this might be the last time I got to see the Cardinals in the World Series and I wanted them to win. Please, please, please. Actually I think I asked Him to please “let US win”. So that tells you which team I’m a fan of. That’s how I found out I was a Cardinals fan a few years ago. I watched a game, Cards lost, I got up out of my chair and mumbled “We sure blew that one”. “We”. OK, so I’m a St. Louis Cardinals fan. So I prayed for the Cardinals and they won. I do admit I felt bad for Ron Washington. I like him and to make it to the World Series TWICE in a row and lose both times? Well, anyway I set a precedent in praying for Cardinals because …

When Pope Benedict resigned I prayed. I got pretty  specific about what I wanted in a new PaPa. I wanted a Latino from South America who was a Franciscan. Well, I’ve always admired Jesuits so one of those with a real devotion to St. Francis was plenty good enough. But see what happened? First time I prayed for Cardinals in Missouri. Second time I prayed for Cardinals without jerseys but with red hats. And both times I prayed for the birds? I won.

My point? Never DON’T pray for the “small stuff” just because its small. Like a baseball team winning a game. Or don’t NOT get to specific. Like what kind of Pope YOU want. Is prayer for the birds? Does it count with the small stuff and the pointed details? You tell me …

“Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? and not one of them shall fall on the ground without your Father.” Matthew 10:29, Douay-Rheims.

And next Monday I begin blogging again daily with a slightly (it turned out to be ever so slightly) new format and, God willing, I’ll be back in the saddle again. 😉

5 Comments

  1. Well said …I was not quite so specific .I asked for a Jesuit ..
    🙂

    • Well, now I know why I didn’t get the Franciscan. lol We obviously both won. 😉

  2. I LOVE THIS AND I LOVE THE TITLE….. I too am a firm believer in praying for the largest and the tiniest of things. When united they form a whole component. This brings forth truth to something that was lacking, sort of like a missing piece to a puzzle.

    • Yes, if God knows how many hairs there are on my head (and they are getting easier to count by the way) I’m very sure He’s aware of details and specifics. 😉

      • Good news for us, J-M: should we lose all our hair in this life, we get it all back in the next. Praise God!


Comments are closed.