The “I want to be like Jesus” Rosary

Rosary...

Every Christian wants to be like Jesus. He is our Goal. To be like Him, to be with Him. Sometimes we look at ourselves and see how far away we are from our Goal. Sometimes it helps to remember the things we have in common with Jesus, even if they’re just little things. Knowing we have things in common with Him may not make us any more like Him but it does help make Him seem not so far away. He doesn’t want to be far away. He came here, lived with us, walked with us, ate with us, to be close to us. And we can be as close to Him now as our hearts will let us.

I want to be like Jesus …

1st Joyful Mystery, the Annunciation. When it was known that I was on my way into the world there was an announcement too. I am like Jesus.

2nd Joyful Mystery, the Visitation. My mother went visiting, sharing me with others before I was ever born. I am like Jesus.

3rd Joyful Mystery, the Nativity. When I was born folks came to see me, and they were glad to see me. I am like Jesus.

4th Joyful Mystery, the Presentation. After I was born my parents were thankful to God for me. I am like Jesus.

5th Joyful Mystery, the Finding in the Temple. When I was little I’d hide away and no one would know where I was. I am like Jesus.

1st Sorrowful Mystery, the Agony in the Garden. I’ve prayed when my heart was heavy and felt like it was about to break. I am like Jesus.

2nd Sorrowful Mystery, the Scourging. I’ve been hurt by people. I am like Jesus.

3rd Sorrowful Mystery, the Crowning with Thorns. People have made fun of me and misused me. I am like Jesus.

4th Sorrowful Mystery, Carrying the Cross. I’ve fallen more than once under a burden to heavy for me to bear alone and God has sent me help. I am like Jesus.

5th Sorrowful Mystery, the Crucifixion. I’ll die someday and I’ve had my heart-broken. I am like Jesus.

1st. Glorious Mystery, the Resurrection. When the priest baptized me I was born new in Jesus, raised up from the death of my sin, my own resurrection. I am like Jesus.

2nd Glorious Mystery, the Ascension. I am with Jesus in His Heart right now, there where He is, so in a way He has already taken me to Heaven. I am like Jesus.

3rd Glorious Mystery, the Decent of the Holy Spirit. The Spirit descended on Jesus, on His Church, and on me too when I was confirmed. I am like Jesus.

4th Glorious Mystery, the Assumption. Jesus’ Mother is in Heaven and she is my Mother so my Mother is in Heaven too. I am like Jesus.

5th Glorious Mystery, the Coronation. Jesus made our Mother Queen and that means she is His Queen and my Queen, she is our Queen. I am like Jesus.

I am human, God is my Father, Mary is my Mother, the Saints (living and dead) are my family, Christ’s Church is His Body and I am a part of all this. I want to be like Jesus. And in being like Jesus I need to remember those things we already have in common and prayerfully work on the rest.

Presenting … JESUS! … Monday, July 22

emblem of the Papacy: Triple tiara and keys Fr...

One Church, one Body, and we’re it.

A Rosary Meditation … The Fourth Joyful Mystery, the Presentation. “A light of revelation to the Gentiles … ” Luke 2:32. Have you ever considered how blessed we are to be Catholic and spiritual children of Abraham? God isn’t obligated towards any of us, but He obligates Himself willingly and out of love for us. He presents Jesus to us just as He did to Simeon and Anna there in the Temple. He makes us a part of something that we have no right to. I think we forget sometimes that we’re creatures and not the ones in control, not the ones in a position to demand or command. But because He created us for the sake of love He includes us, not because He has to, but because He wants to. Now days people have a tendency to think of the Catholic Church as just one denomination among many. This isn’t true. We’re not a denomination. That’s a worldly view of Catholicism. Denominations were all founded by men. We’re not that. There are many denominations founded by men but only one Church, one Body of Christ, created by God, is presented to the world. And if you’re Catholic you’re blessed to be a part of that in a very special way. If you’re Christian and not Catholic you are, sadly, separated from much that God has to offer you as you make your way to Heaven. Of course, there is a remedy for that separation. But Catholics? We should give thanks that there is a Light for us to see and follow and that we are fully a part of it. The Light is Christ, today His light is reflected upon the earth by His Body, and His Body is Holy Mother Church. As we present Him to others let us present His Body as well.

Today …

“The Penitent”

St. Mary Magdelene <br>"The Penitent"

St. Mary Magdelene
“The Penitent.”

She is called “the Penitent”. St. Mary was given the name ‘Magdalen’ because, though a Jewish girl, she lived in a Gentile town called Magdale, in northern Galilee, and her culture and manners were those of a Gentile. St. Luke records that she was a notorious sinner, and had seven devils removed from her. She was present at Our Lords’ Crucifixion, and with Joanna and Mary, the mother of James and Salome, at Jesus’ empty tomb. Fourteen years after Our Lord’s death, St. Mary was put in a boat by the Jews without sails or oars – along with Sts. Lazarus and Martha, St. Maximin (who baptized her), St. Sidonius (“the man born blind”), her maid Sera, and the body of St. Anne, the mother of the Blessed Virgin. They were sent drifting out to sea and landed on the shores of Southern France, where St. Mary spent the rest of her life as a contemplative in a cave known as Sainte-Baume. She was given the Holy Eucharist daily by angels as her only food, and died when she was 72. St. Mary was transported miraculously, just before she died, to the chapel of St. Maximin, where she received the last sacraments. We should all be so blessed as to be such a beautiful part of Christ’s Body, His Church, as is St. Mary Magdelene.

Quote … “What you are is God’s gift to you, what you become is your gift to God.” ― Hans Urs von Balthasar, Prayer.