Celebrating Benedict

St. Benedict

St. Benedict.

I don’t know about you but one of the things I excel at is complicating stuff. Its one of the reasons I both appreciate and enjoy the Benedictine Order. The simplicity of it helps keep me away from spiritual complications. Simplicity, and balance, are, I think, keys to Benedictine spirituality. So, with simplicity and balance in mind, I’ve been thinking (dangerous in itself) how might I celebrate Benedict? July 11 is our good Saint Benedict‘s feast day. What to do, what to do?

The Benedictine Order, our Rule, the life and example of our spiritual father, Saint Benedict, have been a light in the world, reflecting the Light of Christ to the world, for centuries now. Keeping things simple I’ve decided to do one simple thing. While attempting to live my day in a balanced way I’m going to light a candle, one simple candle, offering it up to Jesus in thanksgiving for our Order. And before, during, and after doing that I’m going to try my best, in living my day as a Roman Catholic, to make Saint Benedict proud that I’m an Oblate.

Keep it balanced, keep it simple, and celebrate Benedict.

4 Comments

  1. A consistent balance between “ora” and “labora” is sometimes challenging. Life too often gets in the way. Peace. God bless!

    • I agree. But we press onward toward the mark. Gob bless. 🙂

  2. What a great idea! Thank you for the suggestion. May we all honor our holy father Benedict in this manner tomorrow and every day.

    • When the saints, like Benedict, smile down on us its because God already has. 😉 God bless.


Comments are closed.