Aggravation … Sunday, June 30

The Gospel of the Lord … Luke 9:51-62

When the days for Jesus’ being taken up were fulfilled, he resolutely determined to journey to Jerusalem, and he sent messengers ahead of him.  On the way they entered a Samaritan village  to prepare for his reception there, but they would not welcome him because the destination of his journey was Jerusalem.  When the disciples James and John saw this they asked, “Lord, do you want us to call down fire from heaven to consume them?”  Jesus turned and rebuked them, and they journeyed to another village.As they were proceeding on their journey someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.”  Jesus answered him, “Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.”

And to another he said, “Follow me.”  But he replied, “Lord, let me go first and bury my father.”  But he answered him, “Let the dead bury their dead.  But you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.”  And another said, “I will follow you, Lord, but first let me say farewell to my family at home.”  To him Jesus said, “No one who sets a hand to the plow and looks to what was left behind is fit for the kingdom of God.”

~

Have you ever noticed how aggravated we get when things don’t go our way? Of course you have, we all have. I even get aggravated with myself for being aggravated. Everybody knows about aggravation. Like the people here in the Samaritan village. They were aggravated because Jesus wasn’t going to stay with them, He was going to Jerusalem instead. And Jesus’ followers, who were aggravated at the Samaritans for being inhospitable. Maybe the ones offering to follow Jesus, or the ones He invited, the ones who had business to take care of first or didn’t want to hear about the downside of being a disciple, these folks were probably aggravated too.

The Lord is my Good Shepherd

Do you think the Good Shepherd ever got (gets) aggravated at the sheep that keep wandering off?

It’s easy to feel aggravated, especially when dealing with others who just don’t seem to understand. It’s easy to feel that way towards self when we act the way we do sometimes even when we know better. And I suppose its easy enough for us to collect favorite aggravations. I know I’ve got a couple. Like when someone asks, “Was Jesus really God?” And I hear the reply, “Yes, He was.” Was? Isn’t He still God? Did something change? Shouldn’t the correct response be, “Yes, Jesus IS God,”? Or when I hear a Catholic talking about “other” denominations, like we’re just one amongst many. I’ve got news. Jesus founded His Church, just one Church. Men founded denominations, plural, later. But then I think that I know what they MEAN regardless how they phrase it, because if you asked the first person if Jesus is God NOW they’d say yes, and if you asked the other person, “Do you mean they’re all alike and that one is as good as another?”, they’d say no and explain the difference. I hope. So now I’m back to being aggravated with myself for being picky.

Do you think Jesus ever got aggravated? Maybe He was aggravated with the Samaritans for not understanding His mission, or with His followers for not understanding the nature of His mission. Perhaps He felt aggravated with those He called for putting off the answer or for making excuses or just plain not listening. Which brings us to the real point, doesn’t it? Its one thing for us to get aggravated with ourselves or others, it’s another to work towards living our lives in such a way as to not be an aggravation for Him.

“All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.” – Henry Ellis.

4 Comments

  1. Yes, when Linguistics is hijacked for pushing agendas and people stop calling things by their proper, Traditional name. This is very popular among groups that wish to deny their behavior is Sin, ok the political class as well.

    • Yes, its a popular trend to “change” things by changing definitions.

  2. I was thinking the Samaritans were upset about Jesus coming through their territory because of the active “riff” between Jews and Samaritans. But when you said “to give him hospitality” I thought of the woman at the well. SO these Samaritans loved Jesus and wanted him to stay with them and not just pass through. Also Jesus (or any of us) could never be aggravated with a lost sheep, a lost child( doesn’t know better). Even us who think we are in the “know”. God knows better and this is the time to acknowledge this fact. He sees beyond the present moment so trust Him and let God be God.

    • Thank you. I like your thought better than mine. 😉


Comments are closed.