Lost, found, willing … Thursday, June 20

English: Detail of the Rosary Madonna by the T...

English: Detail of the Rosary Madonna by the Tyrolean sculptor Josef Mersa ca 1905 in the parish church in St. Ulrich in Gröden.

A Rosary Meditation … The Fifth Joyful Mystery, Finding Jesus in the Temple. ” ‘How is it that you sought me? Did you not know that I must be about my Father’s business?’ ” Luke 2:49. Have you ever prayed and you just KNEW that you knew what was needed? You didn’t even have to ask God for insight, His will was as clear to you as your own. I know I have. “How is it that you sought Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?” I don’t know about you, but for all MY “knowing”, for all my seeking Jesus in prayer, I didn’t have a clue. It was only later, in retrospect, that I understood what God’s will was, what the Father’s business was really all about. It’s part of being human. We can’t see around corners, but He can. I think I do well to remember, and maybe you’re not so very different from me, that it isn’t always so much about seeking Jesus as it is about letting Him find me.

Today …

St. John of Pulsano

St. John of Pulsano

St. John of Pulsano

Also known as John of Matera, a hermit and monk. Born in Matera in the Kingdom of Naples, he joined the Benedictines near Taranto, but was disliked because of his austerities. He then joined the community of St. William of Vercelli for a time, leaving to preach at Ban. John spent time as a hermit in Sicily and was imprisoned. Now who puts a hermit in jail and why? He escaped and went to Capua. In his later years, John founded a monastery at Pulsano. He was famous for preaching, prophecy, and miracles. A colorful character. Going from place to place, for various reason, doing what God wanted him to do, not so much seeking God as being found willing by Him.

Willingness … “The world is full of willing people; some willing to work, the rest willing to let them.
~ Robert Frost ~
