How can you tell? … Wednesday, May 29

Pentecostés. Óleo sobre lienzo, 275 × 127 cm. ...

Look at these people, especially Mary, and ask yourself, “How can you tell?”

A Rosary Meditation … The Third Glorious Mystery, the Descent of the Holy Spirit. “”Come, O Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of thy faithful; and kindle in them the fire of thy love.” ~ Pentecost Alleluia ~ Have you ever wondered how you can tell for certain that a Christian has the Holy Spirit actively dwelling in them? Remember what Paul said?

1 If I speak with the tongues of men, and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. 2 And if I should have prophecy and should know all mysteries, and all knowledge, and if I should have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. 3 And if I should distribute all my goods to feed the poor, and if I should deliver my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. 4 Charity is patient, is kind: charity envieth not, dealeth not perversely; is not puffed up; 5 Is not ambitious, seeketh not her own, is not provoked to anger, thinketh no evil; 6Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth with the truth; 7 Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. 8 Charity never falleth away: whether prophecies shall be made void, or tongues shall cease, or knowledge shall be destroyed. 9For we know in part, and we prophesy in part. 10But when that which is perfect is come, that which is in part shall be done away. 11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child. But, when I became a man, I put away the things of a child. 12 We see now through a glass in a dark manner; but then face to face. Now I know I part; but then I shall know even as I am known. 13 And now there remain faith, hope, and charity, these three: but the greatest of these is charity. … 1 Corinthians 13.

And of course the word “charity” here is synonymous with “love”.

So what did Paul just say? Well, bluntly, the proof of the Holy Spirit has nothing to do with speaking in tongues. The early Mormon’s spoke in tongues. It has nothing to do with the ability to prophesy. We know that there are false prophets. It has nothing to do with understanding mysteries or having knowledge. An atheistic scientist fits that description. It’s not a matter of having a faith that can work miracles. Remember that Judas Iscariot, along with the other Apostles who were given gifts, healed people. It’s not about any of that. It’s all about what manifested, bottom line, on that very first Pentecost. When the Holy Spirit was poured out people came to God as a result. And God is Love. Those who love God exude love. “By this shall all men know that you are my disciples, if you have love one for another.” John 13:35. And that’s how you can tell. It’s by their fruits that you can know them.

OK, now we all go look in the mirror and check ourselves.

Today …  Martyrs of Toulouse. Twelve martyrs put to death by Albigensian heretics near Toulouse, France, on the eve of the feast of the Ascension. Four diocesan priests, three Dominicans, two Benedictines, two Franciscans, and one layman died singing the Te Deum. They were beatified in 1866. Jesus gave His life for us and still does. What began in the Upper Room, was made clear on Calvary, and continues through the Mass even today, His one ongoing sacrifice of Himself, proves His great love for us. We may never be called to spill our blood as these martyrs were but we are all called to a loving martyrdom of self, the spilling of our hearts for love of Him.

Quote … “God did not create a human family made up of segregated, dissociated, mutually independent members. No; he would have them all united by the bond of total love of Him and consequent self-dedication to assisting each other to maintain that bond intact.” ~ Pope Pius XII ~ (Who will be, and I believe is, Pope Saint Pius XII.)

