Receiving Visitors and Visiting Others … Monday, April 1

English: The Embrace of Elizabeth and the Virg...

The Embrace of Elizabeth and the Virgin Mary. St. George Church, Kurbinovo, Macedonia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Rosary Meditation … The Second Joyful Mystery, the Visitation. “For, behold, henceforth all generations shall call me blessed; for he who is mighty has done great things for me.” Luke 1:48-49. You might call this a prophecy. “All generations.” Its proven true, hasn’t it? We still pay respect to Mary, and for the very reason she said. Because God has done great things for her. He made her the Mother of God. The only Heavenly position greater than that is God’s. The only earthly position greater than that is Pope. And they respect her. God respects His Mother, the Pope respects his Queen. And us? What do we do? I mean really? Do we believe in her position as God-given and respect her or do we just give lip service? Mother Mary visited Elizabeth and made the above proclamation. Daily, through the liturgy, by way of her Rosary, she visits us in humility, as our mother, and waits for our response. Elizabeth responded appropriately. She made the right decision. When Mary visits us today what will our response be? In rejecting the Mother of God we reject the One she gave birth to. By accepting her we accept Him. Let us choose wisely.

Today … St. Theodora. Roman martyr. According to the Acts of Pope St. Alexander (r 105-115), she was the sister of St. Hermes and was martyred some time after her brother. She had given aid and care to her brother during his difficult time in prison. She visited her brother while he was in prison. Jesus talked about people who visit others in prison, those who care for the sick, cloth the naked, feed the hungry. See Matthew 25:36. There’s more than one “visitation”, more than one way to give honor to Mary and, most importantly, her Son. There’s the “visitation” of following the example they set and sharing the visit with others.

OK, here we go … Anyone keeping track of this blog knows that I’ve been sick a lot lately. I had the stomach flu followed by my back going out followed by a cold that turned into phenomena and a hospital stay. It was an interesting five or six weeks. It was enough to make a person, well, sick. Anyway, one of the things I don’t like about being sick, and one that I should be the most thankful for, is that when incapacitated laying there and thinking is about all I can do. Ah, thinking. Can be dangerous ground. There have been a few such times when, given circumstances, I realized that certain drastic changes needed to be made. Drastic from my point of view anyway, and probably no big deal to anybody else. So I’m going through a time of change. It’s all good, or it seems to be, but change can also be a bit scary. New ground, unfamiliar. With these things in mind please pray that I make the right decisions. I’ll talk with my confessor this Saturday. He’s a lot smarter than I am. I’ve shot off a couple of e-mails, testing the waters. But given my heart I think I already know where this is going. I just want to make sure that my heart and His will are in sink. Pray for that, please, and the rest will take care of itself. Thank you. 🙂

Published in: on April 1, 2013 at 12:12 am  Comments Off on Receiving Visitors and Visiting Others … Monday, April 1  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,