An aside …

c. 1437-1446

St. Benedict, c. 1437-1446 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Prisoner  - Number Six "Patrick McGoo...

The Prisoner – Number Six: Patrick McGoohan, (Photo credit: marsmet545)

The Rule of Saint Benedict teaches the spirituality of balanced living. A balanced life, honestly and truly balanced, would be a saintly life. Now there are many religious orders with many wonderful charisms. And while the focus of any particular group might look unbalanced to you or me it provides a balance for certain people given their weaknesses and strengths. All of these groups taken as a whole lend themselves to a balanced Holy Mother Church. But, for me, given my own private mental bent, the Benedictine order, with its emphasis on balance in general, is what I need. So I became a Benedictine Oblate a few years back and try to live the spirit of the Rule by living in balance. Well, trying to anyway. For me balance means a collection of very specific things or aspects of life. I need to work, rest, study, eat, sleep, pray, go to Church, and recreate. And each of these areas need to be kept in balance. Just enough of this, not to much of that, a correct amount of the other. It is, quite simply, a balancing act. Once again, simplicity ought never be confused with ease. OK, you knew it was coming. I said all of that to say this …

That part about recreation. For me it’s always been important to have some hobbies. Not just one, that is for me out of balance. Two or three simple ones works for me. I spend some time on each, not all of them every day but at least one a day. One of my favorite hobbies is the ’67 TV series, “The Prisoner“, with the late, and I believe great, Patrick McGoohan. He was, by the way, a staunch Catholic. He turned down the role of James Bond twice along with the role of Simon Templar because there was too much sex and violence involved. A man with moral convictions. Anyway, the hobby aspect consists of watching the series (I have all 17 episodes on DVD.), reading books pertaining to it (In the 70s there was actually a University course taught on the series in Canada.), entertaining myself with whats available concerning the series and McGoohan online, and writing my own short stories, fiction, about McGoohan’s character, the Prisoner, or as he’s known on the show, Number 6. With these stories in mind (I currently have five.) and considering the fact that they make almost no sense to anyone not familiar with the show, here it is in a nutshell.

If anyone reading this blog has an idea about what I might do with these (Right now they just set on my computer.) please feel free to share. They were fun for me to write, they might be fun for someone else to read. They might even help someone get, well, you know … Balanced.

Published in: on March 4, 2013 at 10:10 pm  Comments Off on An aside …  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,