OK, now close your eyes and hold out your hand … Thursday, February 21

StJohnsAshfield StainedGlass Simeon

StJohnsAshfield StainedGlass Simeon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Rosary Meditation … The Fourth Joyful Mystery, the Presentation. “Because my eyes have seen thy salvation, which thou hast prepared before the face of all peoples.” Luke 2:30-31. Blessed eyes, weren’t they? Simeon holding a baby, THE Baby, knowing Who and What he was looking at. It’s not everybody that recognizes salvation when it’s offered. Lots of people who have eyes to see in the physical world are blind in the spiritual realm. Its easy enough to see this blindness during Christ‘s earthly ministry and things, people that is, seem to have not changed much. But blindness has been cured before and so there is hope for the world. Closer to home we’ll hope there’s hope for us because we, as Catholics, can suffer from a dimmed vision from time to time. The symptoms are a lack of faith and obedience. Not so terribly difficult to overcome with a little effort. Pray for faith and trust I’ve been given it. (See? There it is already!) And do the deal even when I wonder if Holy Mother Church is right THIS time. (History, personal history, helps with this. I just ask myself when was the last time she was wrong? Ah, more faith right there with trust to go with it!) Wondering is natural, doubt is a temptation, a temptation is not a sin. Self-will is always self-defeating. Better to have vision, like Simeon. Better to keep my eyes on the Christ and hold Him close, like Simeon. When salvation came Simeon saw it, recognized it even when it was wrapped in swaddling cloths. Now salvation is brought to me disguised in other ways. Bread, wine, a divine institution that looks all to human much of the time. Its OK. All these things, the bread and wine and more, are seen through eyes of faith because they are gifts given by the One Simeon held. And even when the package looks a little odd to me, because the gift comes from Him, I can trust in the content, I can hold out my hand and receive the gift. Even with my eyes closed.

Today … St. Felix of Metz. Third bishop of Metz, France. He is believed to have ruled that see for more than four decades. I picked the good bishop this morning for a simple reason. “Felix” is Latin for “Happy”. So I figured he obviously knew about the Gift, and that he saw.

And … Seeing can be a strain, eye strain. Eyes get tired? Its OK. We have a Shepherd to lead shortsighted sheep. Trust me, I know. Now if I could only remember where I laid my glasses. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 Comments

  1. Wonderful post! Would like to leave more of a comment on it, but have to run and get my teeth cleaned:>) Your blog so inspires me. God Bless, SR

    • Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a good day. I woke up to ice outside. I’ve given myself the day off. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. “A day off.” Sounds good to me, but not possible today. I would like to ask you, if you would mind me reblogging this post, for my post tomorrow. I know I can but I never reblog without permission. One of my things I am trying to implement on my blog, is on Fridays do a reblog of a post that truly made me think. This one did. You will not hurt my feelings at all, if you say no, it is your blog. God Bless, SR

    • Its fine if you’d like to reblog this (or any other) post here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Reblogged this on Being Faithful to Grace and commented:
    I am trying on Friday’s to do a reblog on a post or blog that truly touched me. Though all of your post do, I had to reblog this post and also try and welcome this blogger into our wonderful family. The blogger has cancer which is in remission, read the story. The post make you think and laugh. They always remind me to learn but do it with joy. I hope you enjoy reading them and will add to your blogroll. God Bless, SR


Comments are closed.