A Fishing Trip … Sunday, February 10

Jesus and the miraculous catch of fish, in the...

Jesus and the miraculous catch of fish, in the Sea of Galilee, by Raphael (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In luke 5:1-11 we read about our Lord Jesus teaching the crowd with His words and then teaching the apostles through action. Jesus sat in the boat, just off the shore, and taught the people from there. After He was finished teaching the multitude He turned to Peter and said, “Put out into deep water and lower your nets for a catch.” Now Peter and those with him were professional fishermen. They KNEW how to catch fish. What did a carpenter know about it? But, because Peter and the rest knew and trusted Jesus, they cast their nets and drew them in. And the result was that the nets were so full that they nearly broke because of the weight of the fish.

How many times, because we’re supposed to know what we’re doing, do we fail to listen to those around us who, given their position, ought not know how to advise us? Remember, out of the moths of babes. Peter and the rest give us a good example here. It’s not always the best way just because its our way, it’s not true that “professionals” get things right every time. Being willing to listen, coupled with just being willing, goes a long way.

Putting “out into deeper water” can be a challenge too. It’s so easy to stay near the shore, in the shallows, where its safe. Easy, safe, comfortable. And trust me, at this stage of my game, I’m good with easy and safe and comfortable. But it can’t always be that way. It’s important to remember that. It’s also just as important to remember that it needs to be Jesus Who tells us to go out into the deep water and not our ego or our own wishful thinking. Those things get us in over our heads.

The above are two simple thoughts, hopefully a few words to get our mental juices flowing. I’ll let you go from here. Frankly, I’m brain-dead. I went to the M.D. the other day. I’ve got influenza b. I’ll live, but boy I wish I felt better. I haven’t felt this bad since I did chemo. Prayers, please, and blessings on you all. 🙂

Published in: on February 10, 2013 at 4:59 am  Comments Off on A Fishing Trip … Sunday, February 10  
Tags: , , , ,