FYI: The Worlds Greatist Hearing Aid … Thursday, February 7

LISTEN

LISTEN (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

A Rosary Meditation … The Fifth Joyful Mystery, the Finding in the Temple. “He was setting in the midst of the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions.” Luke 2:46. Jesus listened when He already knew what was in the mind and heart of the other. He asked questions when He already knew the answers better than the other person ever could. Why? There’s a lady in our parish whose husband died about a year ago. If she corners you she’ll talk. And talk, and talk, and etc. You can’t get a word in edge ways and if you do she’ll talk over you. She talks “to” people, or “at” them, never “with” them. Shes alone with no one to listen, and she’s probably scared. I have a friend I go to with “stuff”. I tell them, “I don’t need advise, and I don’t want input. I just need to say this.” They understand. I talk, they listen, and when I’m done I feel better. Sometimes I feel better just listening to myself because once I hear the “stuff” verbalized I realize just how asinine it actually is. Talk, conversation, communication, hearing, listening, being heard. Why did Jesus ask when he already knew? Well, you know, sometimes its okay to ask a question just to let the other person know you’re listening and that you care. Is that why Jesus asked when He already knew the answer? Why did He listen? Certainly His creatures couldn’t add anything to His wisdom or knowledge. If we can understand why Jesus asked and why He listened when He already knew we’ll have a leg up on communication skills from now on. So, bottom line, why did He ask when He already knew? And why did He listen when He already knew? Why listen to the lady at church? Why would my friend listen to me? Simple. Because at times knowing isn’t nearly as important as loving.

Today … Every saint that was a priest. Something different for today. Think about every saint who was a priest. Think about your own priest. Think about confession. Do they listen? Do they ask questions? Why? Answer that and be thankful.

And … “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.”

Published in: on February 7, 2013 at 1:09 am  Comments Off on FYI: The Worlds Greatist Hearing Aid … Thursday, February 7  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,