Blown Away

I get that every once in a while. Blown away that is. And that’s because I’ll never understand certain things. A friend, and they’ll see this later (you know who you are), told me the other day that after everything I’ve been through, and there’s a lot I never go into here online because I just don’t think certain subjects would be appropriate here given certain details but trust me, with my mouth, if YOU were here I’d have no qualms about sharing face to face … Anyway, this friend told me that after everything I’ve been through I’m not angry at life, or bitter, and I don’t think the world owes me. And I’m thinking, “Angry? Why? Who’s fault was it? Stuff happens.” “Bitter? Bitterness would accomplish what, other than destroy this precious moment that I’ll never get another shot at?” “Owed something? I worked for everything I ever earned, that’s how life works. Those things I received that I didn’t work for were gifts, are gifts to be thankful for, nothing more, nothing less.” So that anyone would even say something like this, well, look at the title of this post.

I have a friend, a Vietnam vet. He was a Marine, still is on the inside, and a medic in ‘Nam. (I call him a nurse. I enjoy the reaction. ;-)) He crawled out on the battlefield, elbow crawling under bullets flying, the guys behind him yelling, “Doc! Don’t do it!” He went anyway and brought the wounded back. This guy is my friend and I’m proud that he is. One day he said that I was his hero. ???!!!

I have a friend, a local artist. A good artist too. I joke and tell folks he’s half Methodist and half Buddhist but its surprising how much we agree on. We talk about lots of different things. Stuff that’s basic to the meaning of life, about as serious as you can get, and all that stoopid guy stuff that’s the bane of polite conversation. He is one of the most gentle and honest souls I know. He keeps telling me how much he has gotten out of watching me go through fill-in-the-blank.???!!!

It doesn’t take a hero to do the next right thing. It doesn’t take a saint to set a good example. Life’s meanness doesn’t have to make us bitter or sad or angry or “entitled”. It’s not about me or what I’ve been through or what I’ll go through. For some reason, humor me, I feel to get this out. Just want to set the record straight. So what IS it all about???

It’s ALL about HIM. It’s about HIS example. It’s about what was done TO HIM. It’s about what HE did. It’s about HIS having given up willingly what was rightfully HIS, what HE WAS TRULY ENTITLED TO. It’s about LOVE. It’s not about anyone else, not me, not you. It’s about getting me and you out of the way in order to make room for HIM. Make room for HIM where?

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock … ” That door He’s knocking at? It’s just to the left of your sternum, there in your chest. The heart. Our part is to let HIM in and let HIM do. Anything else, all the rest that LOOKS like it’s about us? That’s HIS strength and love working in and through us. All that we can donate to the process is our free will. And THAT’S what it’s all about.

Published in: on December 22, 2012 at 8:45 pm  Comments Off on Blown Away  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, December 22

A Rosary Meditation … The First Glorious Mystery, the Resurrection. “Amen, amen, I say to you, that you shall be sorrowful, but your sorrow shall be turned into joy.” John 15:20. Its easy enough to see how these words applied to the followers of Jesus when you think about the Crucifixion and the Resurrection. But how might they be applied to us personally, today? We can take joy in the Resurrection, that’s true. But does it stop there? Should it stop there? Is there nothing else to be joyous about? The Crucifixion was a bad experience for the disciples, seeing their much-loved Leader put to death like a common criminal. But the Resurrection offered nothing but joy and understanding. Joy because He lived again, understanding because this new life of His presented to them a glimmer of understanding of their own new life in Him. After this understanding began to dawn that first Easter morning the Crucifixion took on new meaning and didn’t look the same. And all of this should be an encouragement for us today. Because the joy and understanding didn’t stop there. When things look dark today we can remember all of this and look forward to tomorrow. Read 2 Corinthians 4, its short. Because as bad as things might seem right now we can trust God to bring something good out of it all. I’ll use myself as an example. Setting there in a doctor’s examination room and  being told you’re going to die and there’s nothing much anyone can do about it other than try to postpone it for a time is not a joyous occasion. But it brought me back to Church and a closer relationship with God and I have Hebrews 12:6 as a great consolation. I tell people I love my cancer. Is it any wonder? When things look dark with no light in sight, when you’re in a tunnel looking for the light at the end of it and find out the tunnel is a dead-end, that’s no reason to give up hope. It is the perfect time to take great joy in a Living, Loving, miracle-working God.

Today … St. Hunger. OK, if you’ve ever read the section titled “About me and my blog” listed over there on the right side of this page you know I admit to having an odd sense of humor. I’m trying to lose a few pounds and, well, when I started looking for a saint of the day this one just kinda stood out. But, turns out he is a good choice. Between running from Vikings and dealing with King Lotharius he seems to have had problems enough. Kings and Viking hoards aside, he was a bishop. If there was ever a bishop without headaches I’ll eat my mitre. (And no, I don’t have a mitre but, like I said, I’m trying to lose a few pounds and at this point just about anything looks appetizing.) I think St. Hunger knew dark days and sorrows. But being close to God I don’t think the darkness prevailed. How could it when Hunger possessed the Light? John 1:4. When things look dark for you remember St. Hunger and ask him to help you never to lose sight of the Light emanating from that empty tomb.

Hope … Having hope is how we express our faith in God when things look bleak.