Sunday, November 18

In today’s Gospel reading, Mark 13:24-32, Jesus talks about His Second Coming. He gives some warning signs that may be literal or figurative depending on your own view-point. Theres been plenty of conjecture for nearly 2,000 years now. And that’s ok unless we get so caught up in it that we forget the two, simple, primary points involved. These points are that He’s coming back and we need to be ready. Given that He tells us plainly that no one but the Father in Heaven knows when this will take place the only way to be ready is to get ready now.

Getting ready NOW entails lots of things. Procrastination isn’t one of them. A person going to an important business meeting to make a presentation that would make or break their own position wouldn’t wait til 30 minutes before the carpool arrived to get things ready. How ready we are when Christ returns will make or break our position for all eternity. So the big question is HOW to get, HOW to be ready. With eternity hanging in the balance, Heaven and hell both being very real with either a possibility, the “how” may seem daunting in the extreme.

“I am the good shepherd …” John 10:11a. Consider …

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” There is no lack of help in getting ready, neither is there a want for supplies. Psalm 50:10.

“”In verdant pastures he gives me repose.” Sometimes things look bleak, like a desert. Eyes of faith see green pastures in a desert where doubt sees failure in the midst of success. Romans 10:17.

“Besides restful waters he leads me; he refreshes my soul.” One of the things the shepherd did for his sheep was to water them. Sheep aren’t real bright but their not altogether stupid either. Rushing water frightens them, and for good reason. Sheep, with all that wool, if they get soaked weigh too much to swim and so they drown easily. In ancient times the good shepherd would dam up a part of the stream creating a calm pool for the sheep. Revelation 22:17.

‘He guides me in right paths for his name’s sake.” Theres more in the balance here than our eternity. His reputation as a shepherd is at stake also. Matthew 7:24-25.

“Even though I walk in the dark valley I fear no evil; for you are at my side with your rod and your staff that give me courage.” A good shepherd carried certain equipment at all times. The rod and staff were givens. One had the crook in the end. It was made to fit around the wayward sheep when it got itself, as we sheep often do, between a rock and a hard place so that the shepherd could lift it out of the rough spot and hoist it back to safe ground. The other was a short club or baton used to rap the sheep on the nose to keep it from becoming wayward. Hebrews 12:5-6.

“You spread the table before me in the sight of my foes; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.” He keeps us safe from the enemy that stalk our souls like a roaring lion, there is healing because of His stripes, and, like He told the woman at the well, there is no end to the flow of this Living Water. Philippians 4:19.

“Only goodness and kindness follow me all the days of my life; and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord for years to come.” The Good Shepherd makes a home for us, His sheep. If He makes us a home surely He is able to bring us home. Revelation 22:14.

Daunting? Yes. Hopeless? Hardly. Jesus put Holy Mother Church here to help us, in His Name, with getting, being and staying ready. Want to be ready? Do what your Mother tells you. Don’t believe me? Well, then go ask Father. Luke 10:16.

Maranatha.

Published in: on November 18, 2012 at 5:57 am  Comments Off on Sunday, November 18  
Tags: , , , , , ,