Wednesday, November 14

A Rosary Meditation … The Fifth Glorious Mystery, the Coronation of the Blessed Virgin Mary as Queen of Heaven and Earth. Today will end our time, at least for now, with Mary of Agreda’s beautiful work, “The Mystical City of God”. Ending here I think its best to turn to our Queen Mother for thoughts. Here are the words she spoke to Mary of Agreda after having told her about the Coronation.

“My daughter, if anything could lessen the enjoyment of the highest felicity and enjoyment which I possess, and if, in it, I could be capable of any sorrow, without a doubt I would be grieved to see the Holy Church and the rest of the world in its present state of labor, notwithstanding that men know me to be their mother, advocate and protectress in Heaven, ready to guide and assist them to eternal life. In this state of affairs, when the Almighty has granted me so many privileges as His mother and when there are so many sources of help placed in my hands solely for the benefit of mortals and belonging to me as the mother of clemency, it is a great cause of sorrow to me to see mortals force me to remain idle, and that, for want of calling upon me, so many souls should be lost. But if I cannot experience grief now, I may justly complain of men, that they load themselves with eternal damnation and refuse me the glory of saving their souls.” With these words in mind let us pray our Rosary with faith in God and in the Mother He has given us. She is our Queen, she has His ear. The world needs a loving Queen Mother, one that can take our petitions to the Creator and King of the Universe, now more than ever.

Today … St. Joseph Pignatelli. A Jesuit confessor and one of the men that helped restore the Order after its suppression in 1773. Pope Pius VII restored the Society of Jesus officially in 1814. Pope Pius XI said that this saint was “of manly and vigorous holiness.” Pope Pius XII called him “the restorer of the Jesuits.” Over time, and in our own time, lots of things get suppressed. Good, wholesome things. Many times they are suppressed because of honest misunderstanding. But the world suppresses much out of fear, hatred, ignorance, intolerance and a desire, global, for self-will. Saints come along and restore things. Today we can follow St. Joseph Pignatelli’s good example and, aiming at our own lives and the world around us, get to work restoring. Now THERE is job security.

Remember this while you work to restore … “If you follow the will of God, you know that in spite of all the terrible things that happen to you, you will never lose a final refuge. You know that the foundation of the world is love, so that even when no human being can or will help you, you may go on, trusting in the One who loves you.” ~ Pope Benedict XVI ~

Published in: on November 14, 2012 at 5:44 am  Comments Off on Wednesday, November 14  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,