Saturday, November 3

A Rosary Meditation … The Second Glorious Mystery, the Ascension. “Moreover, just as He had instructed the Apostles, so He now wanted to instruct these faithful respectively in what each was to know before His leaving and ascending into heave.” (“The Mystical City of God” by Mary of Agreda) Have you ever gone into another room to do or get something and when you got there couldn’t remember what you came for? Everyone has. I do it more and more all the time. Its proof I’m getting older. Just prior to His leaving the followers of Jesus had gathered at the Cenacle. It was time for last-minute instructions. Jesus wanted to deal with each of the 120 individually. There were special words, messages for each one. God is not impersonal. The truth is for all and is the same for all, but sometimes we need a little one-on-one. Maybe a pep talk, maybe advice, maybe the lifting of a discouraged heart. There are probably as many “maybes” here as there are believers. And God is sufficient. He has all the necessary words for each of us. Years ago a distraught friend came knocking at my door. We sat and talked. They had problems and needed answers. They had come to me looking for those answers. The pressure was on. It became obvious to me as they talked that the answer they needed was love and that’s what I told them. They said, “You tell me to love but I don’t know what that is! What is love?!” *sigh* I could go to the dictionary, I could give them a theological definition. This isn’t what they need. They need to KNOW. And I was dumbfounded. I had no answer. After they left I prayed. I told God that they had needed to know what love was and I hadn’t been able to give them an answer. So I asked God to tell ME what love is. And that’s when I heard it. A voice, inside me, not my own, that I trust and believe was His. The Voice said: “For God so loved the world that He gave, and you put a period there.” And that was MY answer. It’s not dogma, it’s not ex cathedra, but it is what I needed then. A personal word, the right word for me at the right time. Now I’m not saying everyone needs to hear voices. But everyone needs to trust that God knows our answers even before we know our questions. And, just as Jesus did prior to His Ascension, He will share those answers, those words, when we need them. Not before we need them, not to late, but right on time. Sometimes they’ll be last-minute instructions but they will be there and we can rest from worry in that knowledge. He will share with you what you need when you need it. The answers are there because He is.

Today … St. Martin de Porres. A wonderful saint. I know that he was because he cared for and loved animals so. Like a little Saint Francis. Maybe he had sympathy for the sick or lost kitten because he knew what it was like to be in a bad place without help. Being the illegitimate son of a freed woman of Panama, who was either of African or Native American decent, his Spanish father wouldn’t even admit that Martin was his for eight years. And later the father deserted the family entirely. Yes, Martin knew what it was like to be left. So the stray dog or wounded bird was sort a of kindred spirit. After all, don’t we all have the same Creator Father? He learned to be a barber-surgeon. So he was able to help his fellow two-leggeds as well. He became a Dominican. When the priory was in trouble because of debt he was willing to let himself be sold. He said he was the property of the order. Kind to people, kind to animals, so giving of self as to be willing to give self away. St. Martin obviously knew the definition of love.

1962 … Pope John XXIII canonized Martin and said: “He excused the faults of others. He forgave the bitterest injuries, convinced that he deserved much severer punishments on account of his own sins. He tried with all his might to redeem the guilty; lovingly he comforted the sick; he provided food, clothing and medicine for the poor; he helped, as best he could, farm laborers and Negroes, as well as mulattoes, who were looked upon at that time as akin to slaves: thus he deserved to be called by the name the people gave him: ‘Martin of Charity’ .”

Published in: on November 3, 2012 at 4:53 am  Comments Off on Saturday, November 3  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,