The 7 Last Words of Jesus: Word 6

“It is finished.” John 19:30.

Everything save eternity comes to an end. There was an end to His suffering. He had done the Father’s will. This part, at least, He was finished with. I’m told that Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forevermore. In one sense He will always be on the cross, always be a Babe in the manger, always be teaching on the hillside, always be the 12-year-old “lost” in the Temple. He doesn’t change. He’s God and God is changeless. Whatever He was, whatever He is, He will always be. But for this moment the will of God had been for all of time and eternity accomplished. It was finished. When I am about to die, as I look back over my life, when I think of God’s will for me, as I draw my last breath, will I be able to say with finality and confidence “It is finished”? Or will I, with just one breath wanting, one second to late, say “God have mercy on me a sinner”? Now is the time to finish God’s will for me. And for as long as I live this life in this world it will always be “now”.

Published in: on August 29, 2012 at 5:27 am  Comments Off on The 7 Last Words of Jesus: Word 6  
Tags: , , ,