The 7 Last Words of Jesus: Word 2

“Today you will be with me in Paradise.” Luke 23:43.

I love St. Dismas, the Good Thief. The Church’s first canonized saint. And it was Jesus that canonized him. Dismas is proof that so long as there is breath there is hope. And the words of Christ here proves it. This is why He hung on the cross, to save sinners. The work of redemption began immediately. In His agony He still took time for another. Do I? When I hurt do I think of you rather than me? Do I put your Heaven before my personal hell? Jesus put Dismas first. Dismas admitted that he deserved exactly what he was getting. He was guilty. Jesus knew that, He didn’t need to be told. But Dismas needed to tell. And Jesus listened. He listened to another’s pain through His own pain. Here is my example. Am I willing to listen to the one I know to be guilty and deserving of punishment? Through my own pain I need to hear you and let you know that you’re not alone. Today you can be with me and I’ll listen. That is what Jesus did. He did it for Dismas, He did it for me, I need to do it for others.

Published in: on August 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm  Comments Off on The 7 Last Words of Jesus: Word 2  
Tags: , , ,