The Votive Light

A beautiful thing. The Votive Light. A small enough thing, just a simple candle. But God uses the simple things of this world to confound the wise. When I light it as a gift, an offering to Jesus, to Mary, to one of the saints I feel closest to, it is a sign of both faith and love. The candle is used in God’s service when I put a match to it. I also should feel a burning in my heart to serve God. I too should desire to be used in His service. The candle doesn’t ask why its being used. Do I? Do I wonder and fret? Surely I have greater faith than an inanimate object. The candle stands, as it were, in God’s presence. Do I? Or do I hide myself for shame? Or laziness? Or coldness? The candle while it burns is anything but cold. Do I burn with the love of God? The candle allows itself to be consumed. Do I? I can learn much about offering myself when I offer this simple candle. We can learn from anything if only we will.

Published in: on August 10, 2012 at 7:54 am  Comments Off on The Votive Light  
Tags: , , , , ,