The Faith of Job

 

Everyone has heard of the patience of Job. Maybe you’ve even heard someone say, “He has the patience of Job.” It’s easy to spot Job’s patience when you read his story. He looses everything, his health fails, his wife nags, and then his best friends show up running off at the mouth with all sorts of well-meant bad advice or accusations. Hey, he must need to do something different if these are the results he gets, right? Or maybe God is punishing him for, hmm, wonder what he did to get God so mad? And through all of this he was … Patient. Ever hear much about his faith? Probably not. He had tons of it. He tells all about it. I don’t want to be misunderstood. I love Job, I think he is a saint. Really. And the book fascinates me. Did you realize that given internal evidence that is non-consequential (Hey! Is that not impressive verbage or what? Ahem. All it means is stuff that you read in the book that’s just kind of there and isn’t that important. *whew*) the Book of Job is in all probability the oldest book in the Bible? Like the very first one written, even before Moses came along? It really is a fascinating book and makes for wonderful study on many levels. But the level I want to focus on here is Job’s level of faith. It ran high. And in all the wrong directions. But don’t take my word for it. Listen to Job, he’ll tell you all about his faith …

“For sighing comes more readily to me than food, and my groans well forth like water. For what I fear overtakes me, and what I shrink from comes upon me. I have no peace nor ease; I have no rest, for trouble comes!” Job 3:24-26.

Told you. Lots of faith. Misplaced, in the wrong things, in negative and fearful things. What does that tell me? It tells me that if I focus on the negative, if I walk in fear, and put my faith in these knowing without doubt that they will happen … They WILL happen. And yes I realize it was Satan that, with God’s permission, struck out at Job. But how did Satan know where to strike? Ol’ Scratch could have done any number of other things. Some folks turn their back on God because of, for example, prosperity. He could have given Job so much in the way of possessions, political power, public acclaim, and even religious pull that Job would’ve felt self-sufficient and had no need for God. But that’s not what Satan did. He hit where he knew it would hurt because he had watched Job and knew where his weak points were. Don’t ever fall for the idea that devils and demons are cartoon characters with pitchforks, pointy tails, and a wicked sense of humor. They aren’t funny and they have been watching humanity for thousands of years in order to know us well enough to defeat God’s purpose for us. They’re smarter, faster, and stronger than you or me. And deadly. They know to hit us where it hurts most and have no qualms about doing so. So what do we do? Well, we start by having faith AND putting it in the right things. I need to put my faith in God and in His Truth. That’s where it belongs. Then its positive and I’ll get positive if I remain constant. And there is the role of patience. Remaining constant in my faith in the positives of God and not fear. Remember that the devil is filled with hate. Hate is a fearful thing. Putting faith in fearful things will only give Satan the chance to bring me those things. He is a very willing messenger. God however is very different. Where Satan is hate filled remember that God is Love. Want to keep Satan at bay? Want to lead a fearless life? Simple … Experience God’s Love.

“Perfect love casts out fear.” 1 John 4:18.

Practice the patience of Job in the Love of God while putting your faith in Christ Jesus.

Published in: on June 27, 2012 at 6:58 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. I love this ..I found it profoundly inspiratiional …You lift me up when I am in need ..

  2. I’m glad it helped. That’s why we’re here, why we’re a “body” of Christ. To lift one another up.


Comments are closed.