Part 9: The Fourth Sorrowful Mystery, the Carrying of the Cross

Part 9 of a 15 part series on the mysteries of the Holy Rosary.

The fourth sorrowful mystery: The Carrying of the Cross.

Jesus tells me that if I am to be His disciple I must take up my cross daily, deny myself, and follow Him. I must do this daily, not just on Sunday or when it is convenient. I must deny my self, and no other. I must follow Him and Him alone. It’s not as though He hasn’t shown they way or left no guide or guidance. He left everything I need to follow Him successfully. He doesn’t want me to fail in this. His will is that I succeed. That doesn’t mean it will be easy or that I won’t fall. On the contrary His example makes it very evident that I will fall. He did. Its part of the example He left. Another part of that same example is that every time He fell He got up. And He accepted help in carrying His cross. It’s ok for me to fall. More than once. It’s ok to get help. It’s ok to carry a cross. A cross looks like such a horrid thing in the eyes of the world. The world cries out, “Get rid of it! Put it down! You can make your life so much easier if you do. Why make things hard for your self?” But I’m supposed to deny self and follow Him not the siren song of the worldly. So I carry my cross for love of Him, turning my back on all else. But what is my cross? My cross may be any number of things. Of one thing I’m sure. My cross should come from Him and not be of my own making. Only then will it be a tailor-made gift. And I should cherish it as such. A gift from Him for my betterment. Only sons are chastened and its gold, not dross, that’s tried in the fire.

Prayer: Mother Mary, please help me to carry my cross and be thankful for it because I know it is a gift from Him and meant for my betterment.

Published in: on May 5, 2012 at 6:59 am  Comments Off on Part 9: The Fourth Sorrowful Mystery, the Carrying of the Cross  
Tags: , , ,