From Brother Lawrence

“We cannot escape the dangers that abound in life without the actual and continual help of God. Let us, then, pray to him for it continually. How can we pray to Him without being with Him? How can we be with Him but in thinking of Him often? And how can we often think of Him but by a holy habit which we should form of it? You will tell me that I am always saying the same thing. It is true, for this is the best and easiest method I know; and as I use no other, I advise all the world to do it. We must know before we can love. In order to know God, we must often think of Him; and when we come to love Him, we shall also think of Him often, for our heart will be with our treasure. This is an argument which well deserves your consideration.” … Taken from the book, The Practice of the Presence of God, the ending paragraph of the ninth letter.

Published in: on March 29, 2012 at 7:04 pm  Comments Off on From Brother Lawrence