“I stand at the door …

… and knock.” We’ve all seen the picture. Jesus, standing in front of a door, knocking. I’d seen it for years, don’t know how many times. Then it dawned on me. I couldn’t remember ever having seen one that showed a handle or knob on the outside of the door. It can only be opened from the inside. Jesus never forces Himself on any of us. He respects our free will, our freedom to choose. To choose for better or worse.

Can you imagine the Divine Guest going door to door? Knocking, hoping, waiting, listening to the sounds behind the door, knowing the need, desiring only our betterment and to share His love with the one, His beloved one, inside. Wanting to share His love, His grace, His favor, with … You. With me. With each individual even as each individual heart is approached. And the result? I guess that’s up to me. Up to you. He made His choice when He knocked.

We are His creation, His creatures. But out of love He endowed us with free will. We belong to Him just as any work of art belongs to its creator. For we are His works of art. Made for His glory. We are His. He stands at the door and knocks. Sadly scripture says that, “He came unto His own, and His own received Him not.”

Ever been too busy to answer the door? Doing dishes, not in the mood for company, trying to get ready for some outing, or just to tired (aka”lazy”) to turn off the tube and get up out of the chair? Next time someone knocks maybe I need to consider. It might not be someone. It might be Someone.

Published in: on February 25, 2012 at 10:58 am  Comments Off on “I stand at the door …  
Tags: , , , , ,