Those things best meditated upon …

“All Christians have but one Faith and adore one and the same God, all hoping for the same happiness in heaven. They have one Mediator Who is Jesus Christ and therefore they must all imitate their divine Model and in order to do this they must meditate on the mysteries of His life, His virtues and of His glory.”

“It is a great mistake to think that only priests and religious and those who have withdrawn from the turmoil of the world are supposed to meditate upon the truths of our Faith and the mysteries of the life of Jesus Christ. If priests and religious have an obligation to meditate on the great truths of our holy religion in order to live up to their vocation worthily, the same obligation, then, is just as much incumbant upon the laity – because of the fact that every day they meet with spiritual dangers which might make them lose their souls. Therefore they should arm themselves with the frequent meditation on the life, virtues and sufferings of Our Blessed Lord – which are so beautifully contained in the fifteen mysteries of the Holy Rosary.” ,,, Taken from “The Secret of the Rosary”, a book by St. Louis Mary De Montfort.

… When I may not attend Holy Mass, give me my Rosary. It celebrates all of those same Divine and saving Mysteries. When my Holy Bible is not at hand, when my catechism is out of reach, when I do not have my Missal with me, if I have forgotten my prayer-book, or if my Rule of St. Benedict can’t be found give me my Rosary. It contains all of the profound truths of my Christian Faith, all the proofs of God’s Religion. I care nothing for any prayer save those of my Rosary with a spirit of humility and contrition.

Published in: on July 30, 2011 at 1:17 pm  Comments Off on Those things best meditated upon …