Obedience

Obedience. Often as not it turns into a four letter word: S E L F. Or at least that’s what seems to get in the way of it. In the way of obedience that is. This, obedience, is a sore spot for me. My fallen human nature tends to be rebellious. That’s what sin and the sin nature are all about. Self in rebellion. Folks, me included, want what we want when we want it. Period. Disobedience, along with the attending results, has a very long history. Beginning with Eden and currently in the “me generation”. “Me” is of course what it’s all about. From my own perspective as Roman Catholic I tend to view its more recent history a little differently than some. A few hundred years ago it seems that for a King or Queen to rebel against the Pope became very much in vogue. Not that it hadn’t happened before but historically it was the Pope who made Kings and Empires. Only the heretical or self-willed rebelled. But a few hundred years ago it became all the rage. Now, well, I can’t think of one King or Queen that is in power who respects the Primacy of Peter. But that’s largely (again, this is my personal view of history) because rebellion didn’t stop there. It was more of a starting point. If royalty could rebel against the Papacy the populace could rebel against royalty. And so it did. Republics and Democracies flourished, royalty became, if anything, a bit of fluff standing on the knickknack shelf to be dusted off and paraded only for state ceremony. If the populace could rebel against the royal household why not the individual against the State? And now we see rebellion give way to the “me generation”. Where the individuals rights are paramount, not withstanding the over all good of the many. Where is the Spirit of Christ in all this? Seemingly as dead as royalty. What of His example? He emptied Himself. He took upon Himself the form of a servant, not a master. Being Master of all He did not consider that something to be grasped at. Rather He was obedient. Obedient unto death. And He is what? Our example. Obedience is needed for order and true peace. Obedience to God, obedience to religious superiors, and even, as Paul taught, obedience to the powers that be even when they are unjust as was Rome against the new Church. Obedience is not an option for the Catholic. It is a requirement.

Having gotten all that out of my system I will now tuck my soapbox safely back out-of-the-way. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

P.S. I think that this blog may have served it’s purpose. I may retire it after this post. I consider that in the future my time will be better spent in prayer and with my mouth, or rather keyboard, shut. That may change, it may not. Time will tell and God will lead. Til then … God bless. ๐Ÿ™‚

Published in: on June 30, 2011 at 5:52 pm  Comments Off on Obedience  

Acceptance versus Acceptabilty

Acceptance. It takes practise. It is the first step towards overcoming any fault, dealing with any problem. What comes after acceptance? That’s fodder for another post, although I’ll deal with it in part here. (Hey, it’s my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) But acceptance IS the first step towards any positive action in regards to any project (self comes to mind) and progress in that area. For example: My sinful nature. I accept it. By that I mean that it is what it is and I recognize it for what it is. That’s acceptance. Whats accepted isn’t necessarily acceptable. I accept my own personal shortcomings. This does NOT make them acceptable. If they were acceptable I wouldn’t need to work on them, they’d be OK as they are. A good analogy here, I think, would be alcoholism. For the alcoholic to accept their alcoholism is a first step in dealing with it. But this acceptance of fact does not make the fact of drinking thereby acceptable. On the contrary. Alcoholism or my own lower nature, or any other problem that needs dealing with, acceptance is the key to the solution. After all, I can’t deal with any problem as long as I’m in denial concerning it. Concupiscence. My soul yearns for good but because I’m affected by sin I get confused about what that good is and invariably go after the wrong thing or whats wrong for me. Understanding that, accepting it helps. But self-knowledge isn’t the answer to the problem, it just points the problem out. Paul said that when he wanted to do good he did evil. He KNEW that, but knowing it didn’t help conquer it. So what does conquer? Oddly enough we, I , conquer by surrendering. What the blind man said, when he saw his own blindness … “Jesus! Son of David! (An act of faith that statement. He was proclaiming Him, accepting Him as the Messiah.) Have mercy on me!” The publican at worship, who wouldn’t even raise his eyes for the shame he saw as his own sinful self … “God, have mercy on me a sinner.” Acceptance of my own lowliness and need brings me to that place … My knees. I can accept that. THAT place IS acceptable. A most efficacious path to holiness can be found via true acceptance of the One to which the path leads.

A blind person once asked St. Anthony: “Can there be anything worse than losing eyesight?” The saint replied: “Yes, losing your vision.”

God, help me to always see not just what I am but also what You can make of me. Hmmm. On second thought, just help me keep my eyes on You.

Published in: on June 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm  Comments Off on Acceptance versus Acceptabilty