Little Things

I am snowed in. Its 10 degrees outside. A short while ago it was 7. The thermometer on the wall reads 75. I’m snug, with hot coffee and a cat that snores. Loudly. The streets are a mess. My landlord pecks on the window and asks if I’m ok. I am. He leaves the daily paper on the sill, shovels the snow from around my door. My next door neighbor knocks. Wants to know if I’d like some stew he made last night. Do I need anything from the store? Yes to the stew, no to the store. I’m in good shape. He brings the stew and takes out the trash so I don’t need to go outside. And I think about my life and the goodness God has placed there via others. And I think about the way I’ve lived, and still do sometimes, and feel like saying with the Apostle, “Depart from me Lord, for I am a sinful man.” I think about all the people I could call for help if I needed to. And I think about those who help without ever being called. And I am thankful. I sit here, severely blessed. I have my rosary and my crucifix. These two things remind me of all I ever really need to know. I think of all the people, my friends, and all the material blessings. Then I think of Calvary, the Eucharist, the Sacrament of Reconciliation, the Church and the Holy Spirit that guides her. All the spiritual blessings. I am, of all men, most severely blessed. And I wonder why. And the answer, as hard as it is at times to fathom, is simple. For all my wretchedness … God loves me. And I give thanks.

Published in: on February 3, 2011 at 12:27 pm  Comments Off on Little Things