Pro Life …

When most folks hear the term ¨Pro Life¨ they automatically think about abortion. Thats understandable. Its what most people talk about when they talk about pro life issues. Notice the plural, ¨issues¨. Its not all about abortion. Being pro-life INCLUDES being anti-abortion. But its more than that. Consider … If a politician is anti-abortion yet engages a nation in an unjust war are they still pro-life? If I vote for such a one am I really pro-life? If a person takes a strong position against stem cell research but knowingly awards government contracts or does business with a company that has an horrendous track record as per ecology are they still pro-life? If I forgo the sacrament of reconciliation when I know I need to go am I still pro-life? If I´m anti-abortion but support an economic system that engenders situations, aka poverty, that makes abortion look like a viable alternative am I really pro-life? If I march in anti-abortion rallies but take part in a system that denies health care to the elderly, handicapped, or poor can I still claim to be pro-life? If I´m anti-abortion and don´t wear my seatbelt … Being pro one thing is more than just being anti something else. I wonder what would happen if every political activist that says they´re pro-life were to be spiritually adopted by and prayed for by a contemplative? Well, for one thing, we would need lots more contemplatives. Better yet, I wonder what would happen if every activist were to adopt and pray for a contemplative? Probably end up with more contemplatives. Its been said that bad things happen when good people don´t do anything. Its no doubt true. I think, and this is just me, that if more good people who don´t pray would pray it wouldn´t matter so much what the polls said or how many turned out to vote. It takes more than polls and votes to over throw the culture of death and establish the true culture of life. It takes a fundamental change of heart. That fundamental change of heart changes the culture. Laws and lawmakers come and go. A good, life-filled heart lasts an eternity.

A Prayer for Life to Our Lady of Guadalupe

Dearest Mother, our Lady of Guadalupe, please emplore your son and our Lord Jesus Christ to put an end for all time to the culture of death and to replace it in the minds and hearts and practice of all the people of the world with the true culture of life. Thank you, Mother. Amen.

Published in: on October 31, 2010 at 1:34 pm  Comments Off on Pro Life …