The Rule

A rule. A thing to measure with. Measure length, or distance, or … The Rule of St. Benedict. My rule, the one I´ve willingly adopted as a way of life in so far as I am able to abide by it out side of a monastery and in secular society. It helps me measure where I am and how far it is I have to go. I know I have a long way to go. But the Rule also shows me how to get to my destination. ¨If we wish to dwell in the tent of this kingdom, we will never arrive unless we run there by doing good deeds,¨ Rule of St. Benedict, Prologue 22. Sounds alot like the race St. Paul described. (Having read St. Benedict´s Rule I´ve concluded that it is based on both The Holy Bible and Sacred Tradition. Early Church Fathers and still other Rules existent in Benedict´s day too. I figure I´m on solid ground here. Helps to know that while I´m running.) Maybe I should start calling the Rule my GPS? I think I like that. Running along that narrow way Christ described, Benedict´s GPS to help guide the way. Narrow, looks rocky, feels like its uphill part of the time and a tumbling down hill at other times. And me? I walk with a cane. Maybe thats supposed to remind me to be aware of my own weakness on the spiritual path as well. Hmmm. As an aside, I think I may have just figured out why God allowed three shot disks into my life. Anyway … Given my condition a little consolation would not hurt right now. And the Rule says: ¨Do not be daunted immediately by fear and run away from the road that leads to salvation. It is bound to be narrow at the outset. But as we progress in this way of life and in faith, we shall run on the path of God´s commandments, our hearts overflowing with the inexpressible delight of love,¨ RSB, Prologue 48-49. Reminds me of ¨They shall run and not be weary.¨ Well, its not as though no one has traveled this route before. Its well worn. That leaves little excuse for wandering off the beaten path. Those who´ve gone before have also left lots of good examples. I can turn to those examples in times of uncertainty. And I have a promise from the One Who laid down the course at the start that He´ll be there to help whenever I need it. He´s intent on me getting to the finish line. Thats good. I mean, me with the cane and all.

Published in: on October 24, 2010 at 1:05 pm  Comments Off on The Rule